The #givejonnyroseajob campaign of April 2011 – THANK YOU

The gloriously-bearded @tomstables captures the mood!

On Wednesday April 20th, unbeknownst to me, a give #jonnyroseajob hashtag campaign started up North when @tomstables (@aishajeffo @walkerstudios @missajburton) came across my blog post seeking employment.

These guys had never met me before and had no idea who I was but had taken pity on me  warmed to my personal plight to land a social media/PR job in London and decided to start a campaign.

@aishajeffo et al. devise the #givejonnyroseajob campaign 🙂

What happened over the past fortnight has been an incredible snowball effect of people who have used the #givejonnyroseajob hashtag to raise awareness of my story:

This has been hilarious, enthralling and heart-warming in equal measure 🙂

I even created the World’s Shoddiest Campaign CV in MS Paint to encapsulate the moment as well as show my off social media endeavours:

AND my good friend @emptybelly helped me create an impromptu video resume (in the glamorous surroundings of East Croydon station):

At time of writing, I still don’t have a job in social media BUT:

a) I’ve had several tentative enquiries and requests for my CV

b) It’s raised my profile on and off-line which is no bad thing

c) I’ve got several interviews lined up in May

d) I’ve connected with lots more helpful and interesting people on Twitter

None of this would have happened if it weren’t for the concerted effort of Tom, Aisha, Amy and John…and the many many other tweeters that helped spread the hashtag love.

This campaign will be remembered by our children, and our children’s children and our children’s children’s semi-android, robotic offspring (if the sci-fi movies are to be believed!) 

THANK YOU VERY MUCH.


About Get A Free GrooveFunnels Account HERE

https://grooveonline.co/ <-- Get your FREE GrooveFunnels account here - Groove Online is the world's leading GrooveFunnels fansite. Created by users for users. See why over a 100,000 internet entrepreneurs a month leave ClickFunnels, Kartra, Builderall, etc and JOIN GROOVEFUNNELS for FREE.
This entry was posted in Social Media, Work and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The #givejonnyroseajob campaign of April 2011 – THANK YOU

  1. John Walker says:

    I hope this all goes well for you. It is a test and tribute to the power of social media, and what a little bit of creativity can do.

    I’ll be hovering around RTing and pinging out the odd original Tweet until I get the all important “I have a job!” Tweet.

    Good luck!

  2. Pingback: The #givejonnyroseajob Campaign Song (Thank you Riddim) | Jonathan Rose's Blog

  3. Pingback: Video: What I do at @idioplatform | Jonathan Rose's Blog

  4. Haha Jonny, just saw this. Awesome!

Leave a comment