POLL: Where is YOUR community?

Croydon community

Croydon Photoblitz Christmas get together at the Dog & Bull, Croydon (photo by Andrew Smith/McTumshie)

com·mu·ni·ty

–noun, plural -ties.

  • 1. A social group of any size whose members reside in a specific locality, share government, and often have a common cultural and historical heritage.
  • 2. A locality inhabited by such a group.
  • 3. A social, religious, occupational, or other group sharing common characteristics or interests and perceived or perceiving itself as distinct in some respect from the larger society within which it exists (usually prec. by the ): the business community; the community of scholars.

In our increasingly fragmented, time-poor lives it’s fair to say most of us are not congregating socially en masse as much as we would have done last century. We remain however communal beings who long – for the most part – to communicate with others. My question is then:

Where do you find your community?

Thank you for answering – feel free to expand in the comments box below 🙂

About jonathanrose

Raconteur. Intellectual. Showerman.
This entry was posted in Local community and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to POLL: Where is YOUR community?

  1. wonderandawilddesire says:

    I have an Exeter Univeristy community, mainly church and society based, still, a legacy to the fact that I don’t quite want to let go just yet. Since I’ve moved away from Lamberhurst, the little village in the middle of nowhere, the place I grew up, I’ve found more friends, and the societies I’m in have a few overlaps, creating the community I’m a part of…you’ll find members from Folk Society in the Methodist and Anglican Society and in Bellringing, and all those can be switched and swapped. So, yes, mainly young, religious, musical and dancing…those are the members that make up the community I’m a part of.

    • jonathanrose says:

      Lyn,

      MANY thanks for getting involved with this and for your input. University is a funny old time when it comes to community as we have so many different communities active in a distinct, enclosed area. No wonder you’re able to enjoy so many and also the overlap!

      I’m trying to explore now, what happens when we break out of the “university bubble” and enter the real world. How easy is it to retain communal ties in the working world.

      Get back to me with your thoughts once you’re a working lady! x

  2. Peter Hardy says:

    Do you think that your sample will be unrepresentative because you are most notorious in the religious communities of Exeter? I don’t expect you needed it to be scientific anyway.

    • jonathanrose says:

      Hi Pete, that would certainly have been the case if I had just opened this up to my Facebook network. However, this has been doing the rounds on Twitter too which has a MUCH wider cross-section of people than my pious in-crowd.

      That said, whatever results I garner – it is not going to be from a large enough sample group for it to be truly reflective. I’m certainly not MORI, no matter how hard I try! 😉

  3. Hi Jonny,

    I think I’ve become part of the local community in Coulsdon since becoming a mum and now as a business owner. Firstly, I was at home more, so got to know my neighbours, the postman and started going to the local children’s centre. I have got quite involved there, and was the first chair of the parent’s forum and now I volunteer.

    I started my business, Get Better Coaching, and support small and start-up businesses to grow and develop. I’ve organised (non-profit making) local Craft & Small Business Fairs and will continue with this. These also have a family element, with entertainment for smaller kids, so everyone in the community can come along.

    Running my business has led me to networking and social media, which in turn has mean’t I’ve grown connections in this area too. Small businesses do well, I think, to share and promote each other, especially once we’ve met each other.

    I wouldn’t have known about you, or this, for instance without Twitter!

    As I said, if there’s anything I can do to help you, just ask.

    Wendy Ager
    Get Better Coaching
    http://www.getbettercoaching.co.uk

  4. Tom Gibson says:

    Lol J-Ro it’s telling when 60% of your votes are for ‘religious centre’, also the ad I saw on this page is for ‘Christian Singles’, does this suggest something else about you and your typical readership!

  5. Dave Roberts says:

    Here are some of my thoughts on community: http://davegroberts.podbean.com/2010/12/08/individuals-in-community/

    For me I am in community, where ever I am: whether virtual or physical…

Leave a Reply

