Jon Butler: I Blog On A Sunday

I Blog On A Sunday is a space for guest-posters to muse about blogging, Sundays or Christianity. If you would like to contribute, holla at jonny_rose_23@hotmail.com or @98rosjon on Twitter.

Today’s contribution is from Portsmouth local lad Jon Butler. Jon is a follower of Christ, husband and a self proclaimed “dabbler of social media with an interest in and commitment to Justice”. He’s also an expert at wielding a Pritt-Stick (see below) and a recent convert to The Wire.

Jon Butler uses his ransom note skills for a nobler purpose...

Why do you love Sundays?

I LOVE Sundays.

Strange because to be honest I used to really dislike Sundays – they were my worst day of the week. Why? Because I was ‘dragged to church’ and wouldn’t be allowed to watch much TV 😦 Bear in mind I was no older than 13 when I felt that way.

Nowadays Sunday is my favourite day. Why? Because I get to watch as much TV as I like.

No it is really because I choose to go to church!

I love being able to spend time with my church family and worshipping God with them. I love being involved in the Sunday services of our church when I get the opportunity too. I love the community. No man is an island after all.

The reason I love Sundays so much now is that until recently I was in a job position where I worked shifts. This meant working all sorts of unsocial-able hours. Such as late nights, early mornings and all through the night too. Many Sundays would pass without being able to get to church and I missed it. When something is taken away from us it’s then we realise how important it is. I took church for granted before I wasn’t able to get there every week.

Having been unable to attend most weeks made me feel disconnected and had a negative impact on my faith. I am now there most weeks.

I’ve got to say from personal experience how important it is to be connected with a church family – through church services or ‘home groups’. In Proverbs 27:17 scriptures say “As iron sharpens iron, so one man sharpens another.” Spending time with other Christians helps us stay focused on God, His mission for our lives and keeps us accountable. It is also important to have people who think and believe as we do to go to for help, advice and support.

I love Sundays, never again do I want to take them for granted. I love Sundays so much I have written a blog post about it. I love to get connected with my brothers and sisters. Face to face the best, but also online. I find blogging a great way to do this too.

I love Sundays, I love blogging so now I have combined the two – I blog on a Sunday.

Visit my own blog here http://jonbutler.org.uk or connect with me on twitter www.twitter.com/butlerjd

About jonathanrose

Raconteur. Intellectual. Showerman.
This entry was posted in I Blog On A Sunday (Guest Bloggers) and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

